mysophobia 潔癖

Nastiness Diagnosis. Anthropology. Religion. Gender. Justice. A Personal Notepad For the General Public.

air mata di bandara 機場之淚

That really left a strong and vivid image in my mind about the family and father in law, even if that was perhaps quite representative of that sort of emotion a typical authority figure in a patriarchal family could be allowed to express. Yet since I have never seen him like that, I was also touched by something refreshingly new and deep.


Di Bandara karena tidak bisa pakir, aku tunggu di mobil sesudah carikan ortu suamiku. Aku mulai membaca halaman 1 dan 2 Netherland. Tetapi sesudah coper2 yang banyak dicheck, mereka datang di samping mobil.
So they walked to the car by my side, waving and asking us to leave. But I got off, and joked that I would drive him home. They insisted that we go home to take a rest first, and that’s it. I quietly urged suami to give his mother a hug. But actually I meant to give each of them. They all seem a bit awkward doing that, as if physical intimacy was never part of their interdependence and mutual understanding. Of course it is also quite atypical of their normally cynical, sarcastic, yelling and hilarious as a whole way of communication. It was mother first, who was consistently cheerful but a clever ‘businesswoman’ otherwise and who gave a generously acted hug. Then Adik. Then ti came to Bapak. Waktu peluk suamiku, bapak langsung bermata merah, hampir tangis. Sesudah itu, dia hanya kami pergi. Tidak bilang apapun lagi.
That really left a strong and vivid image in my mind about the family and father in law, even if that was perhaps quite representative of that sort of emotion a typical authority figure in a patriarchal family could be allowed to express. Yet since I have never seen him like that, I was also touched by something refreshingly new and deep.
I always wish that my family would come to see me in US. But somehow I just know that it is not gonna happen. We’ve never traveled together abroad. Never succeed persuading them to give up things in Taiwan just to have a vacation with me in some exotic, supposedly attractive spots. Even just every time when I leave Taiwan, there is always only my father who drives me and drops me there, who then rushes back over the prison in Taichung, the largest prison in Southeast Asia if what I’ve heard was correct. Sometimes Michelle would take a bus to see me off at the airport. Last time I was lucky because Adik took a bus to meet me there. But most of the time my airport scenario is teemed with gifts, memory, and a tired self in a constant state of transition. Nothing especially new or deep.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2009 by in 【Moldy Room of Sketchism】.
